Design Awards recognise the best in care facilities

Posted on April 1st, by editor in Caring Times. No Comments

More than 450 guests enjoyed the spring sunshine at Lord’s cricket ground on March 28 at the presentation of the Healthcare Design Awards. Now in their twelfth year, the awards aim to promote and recognise the very best developments in the long term care sector. The six awards cover all aspects of care, for elderly people and those with physical or learning disabilities, and is not limited to traditional nursing or residential homes. Projects involving assisted living, close care, care villages and combinations of these various types of care have all been judged, together with extensions to existing schemes. A special award was also presented this year, to mark the contribution to design made by Sunrise Senior Living. The awards are organised jointly by specialist healthcare consultants Pinders and Caring Business magazine, with major banks and insurers providing sponsorship. This year’s winners were: Best Extension to an Existing Home: Bowbrook House – English Care. Best Development – Specialist Care:

Comments are closed.

Latest blog posts

Inconstant gardeners

By Caring Times editor GEOFF HODGSON

Last Saturday was fine and dry so I managed to put in a few hours on our allotment. Not...

When the chips go down . . .

By Caring Times editor GEOFF HODGSON

I have heard people say they couldn’t get by without their smartphone, and I suppose this must be true...

Loneliness behind the front doors

By Guest Blogger KEITH LEWIN

Last week SCIE issued its monthly ‘Briefing for Commissioners’, its focus is on social isolation which it correctly says “can...