Councils may raise the bar on eligibility criteria

Posted on January 1st, by editor in Caring Times. No Comments

Local authorities across the UK are considering raising the eligibility criteria for older people’s services to avoid unacceptable council tax rises in the next financial year. Under the national guidance on fair access to care, there are four thresholds of needs that councils have to identify – “critical”, “substantial”, “moderate” and “low”. It was reported in The Guardian in January that two-thirds of councils had already begun delivering services only to older people and those with learning disabilities with “substantial” or “critical” needs, and according to Anne Williams, co-chairwoman of the resource committee at the Association of Directors of Social Services, many local authorities were considering raising the bar so that only those with critical needs received services. This would mean only the most dependent people – the very elderly or seriously disabled children and adults – would be entitled to social care. “Already last year, two-thirds of councils were only delivering services to people with s

Comments are closed.

Latest blog posts

Time for a ten dollar answer

By Caring Times editor GEOFF HODGSON

Ernest Hemingway was known for his minimalist style and he used to pooh-pooh what he called “ten-dollar” words. Not to...

Lacking capacity

By guest blogger JEF SMITH

A friend of mine diagnosed with cancer – now, happily, treated – was asked how he could possibly have missed the...

Care homes – understated examples of tasteful design

By Caring Times editor GEOFF HODGSON

Dozens of recently-built care homes are material proof that it is perfectly possible to design aesthetically pleasing buildings and put...